Our Community

Welcome to the official website of the government of Yates County New York. We hope your visit to our website is a pleasant and informative experience. Yates County is located in the Finger Lakes Region of New York State, midway between Pennsylvania and Lake Ontario. We are forty five miles southeast of Rochester and fifty miles southwest from Syracuse.

Size of the County

The County has a land area of approximately 338 square miles and includes three of New York State's Finger Lakes. On the eastern border of Yates County is Seneca Lake, on the western border is Canandaigua Lake, and the mid/southern section is split by Keuka Lake. The scenic lakes and extensive wine industry make Yates County a popular tourist destination.

Incorporated Villages

There are four incorporated villages and nine townships situated within the County and the population is approximately 24,600. Penn Yan, the largest of four villages, is the County seat and is located at the north end of the east branch of Keuka Lake. The topography varies from steep hills and valleys in the western townships of the county to relatively flat land in the northern townships to gently rolling hills and valleys in the south, east and central portions. The County is host to a large agricultural base that also includes a thriving Mennonite population. Some of the various types of agriculture include dairy and crop farms, grape vineyards, and apple orchards.